Initial doodles

Do you feel anxious in a yellow room? Does the color blue make you feel calm and relaxed? Do you see the color purple when you read the number 3? Can you feel voices in your head?

Color is a powerful communication tool, and can evoke moods and feelings. The psychological power of color is fascinating, and is something I wish to further investigate. Color and art is further being used as a form of therapy to treat patients with disorders, and help children and adults cope with trauma.

During my research, I stumbled upon the term “synesthesia” – Synesthesia is a condition in which one sense is simultaneously perceived as if by one or more senses. Another form of synesthesia joins objects such as shapes, letters, numbers, or people’s names with a sensory perception such as smell, color or flavour. It is a joined perception.

I am still slightly unsure as to how I want to narrow my research topic into…All are fascinating topics, but unfortunately time is against me! As I dwell over which path I want to take, some of the questions I may consider include (but aren’t limited to) :

  • Why is color such a powerful force in our lives?
  • What effects can it have on our bodies and minds?
  • How can we change our interior decorations to invoke a certain mood?
  • How can I use art to release stress?
  • Is my hearing of a sound accentuated with a visual?

 

One thought on “Initial doodles

Leave a Reply

